PROSEC Scientific Board

The Scientific Board of PROSEC gGmbH is comprised only of experienced and competent clinicians from Science and Clinical Concepts. They reflect the interdisciplinary cooperation between surgery, periodontology, prosthetics and dental laboratories.

The PROSEC Scientific Board is structured into the fields of Science and Clinical Concepts.

The Science Committee’s responsibilities include the development of new quality standards in all-ceramic implantology across applications in the areas of implant design, 3D planning and implant insertion, combinations involving augmentation procedures, all-ceramic prosthetic rehabilitation and risk-assessed follow-up. Other aspects such as function, esthetics, patient usage, biocompatibility, practice suitability, digital workflows and CAD-CAM prosthetic production will always be consistently monitored.

The Clinical Concepts Committee handles the practical education of users, assistants and dental technicians, whereby the clinical and dental procedures are documented step by step in guidelines.

The responsibilities of the Scientific Board include the representation of PROSEC in the scientific community, the initiation, promotion and supervision of scientific activities, projects and studies, the preparation and implementation of annual meetings with the chairpersons of the expert committees, the PROSEC Partner Meetings and the PROSEC Partner Workshops.

Between meetings, the chairpersons execute the functions of the Scientific Board.

Chairpersons of the PROSEC Scientific Board

The Scientific Board elects the Chairpersons of PROSEC and the Technical Director of the PROSEC network from among its members.

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Jörg Strub


Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Jörg R. Strub received a doctoral degree from and later qualified as a professor at the University of Zurich, Switzerland. He was awarded his honorary degree (Dr. h.c.) at the National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, Greece. He worked as a professor and medical director at the Department of Prosthetic Dentistry at Albert-Ludwig University, Freiburg, Germany, and has been a professor emeritus since 2016. Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Jörg R. Strub continues to work as a consultant for businesses.

Prof. Dr. Dr. Wilfried Wagner

Vice Chairman
Science Committee

Prof. Wagner is a specialist in OMF surgery, plastic surgery and the science of oral medicine, in particular questions of tumor biology, in plastic surgery with cleft lip and palates, functional tumor reconstruction as well as fundamentals of implantology and bone replacement.

Dr. Michael Tholey

Vice Chairman
Clinical Concepts Committee

Dr. Michael Tholey is a qualified dental technician and completed his studies in dental technology in Osnabrück, Germany, in 2005. In 2012 he finished his doctorate at the University of Otago, Dunedin, New Zealand. He was department head and project manager Research & Development at VITA Zahnfabrik and since 2015 Dr. Tholey has been in charge of the technical service and courses.

PROSEC Scientific Board

The members of the Scientific Board are appointed and recalled by the PROSEC shareholder meeting by a simple majority.

Prof. Dr. Florian Beuer

Clinical Concepts Committee

Prof. Beuer is a certified specialist in implantology and dental prosthetics and a member of the Executive Board of the Working Group for Ceramics (AG Keramik), and has been an educational consultant on the Executive Board of DGI since 2015.

Prof. Dr. Christoph Hämmerle

Science Committee

Prof. Christoph Hämmerle’s group deals scientifically and clinically with solidly attached reconstructions on teeth and implants. The main focus is on the development and evaluation of all-ceramic reconstructions.

PD Dr. Gerhard Iglhaut

Clinical Concepts Committee

Based on his experience, PD Dr. Iglhaut is a nationally and internationally sought-after speaker in the fields of implantology, periodontology, plastic periodontal surgery and periodontal microsurgery.

Prof. Dr. Ronald Jung

Clinical Concepts Committee

Prof. Jung specializes in crown-bridge prosthetics, partial prosthetics and dental materials science and is professor of implantology and head of the implantology department at the University of Zurich.

Prof. Dr. Barbara Nebe

Science Committee

Prof. Nebe has been Head of the Cell Biology Department at Rostock University Medical Center since 2013. Her research focuses on cell-biological aspects of biosystem-material interaction, cellular acceptance of plasma-chemically and topographically modified biomaterials, regulation of cell physiology in three-dimensional implant scaffolds and the cell-structure-cell function relationship, cellular adhesion.